The 4 Words You Should Never Say To A Depressed Person (Or Anyone, Probably) | Thought Catalog

The 4 Words You Should Never Say To A Depressed Person (Or Anyone, Probably)

By Joyce Novacek

 

I went through a really bad bout of clinical depression in college. I don’t talk about it much — not because I’m trying to hide some dark secret of my past, just because people generally don’t talk about mental illness much. But silence only perpetuates the stigma surrounding mental health, so I am determined to start sharing more. One (of many) not great parts of being depressed is not being able to help those who are trying to help you. I had friends, teammates, family, and others who wanted to help me, but didn’t know how. And I didn’t know how they could help me either. Obviously, this led to frustration on multiple accounts, and even severed some friendships. In the magic of hindsight, I can reflect upon what did and didn’t help me. There was one thing that was said (a lot) that was so unhelpful I wanted to share it, and offer some alternate phrases. I understand people who said it had good intentions, but, if you know someone suffering from depression, I encourage you to reconsider using this phrase:

More on  The 4 Words You Should Never Say To A Depressed Person (Or Anyone, Probably) | Thought Catalog.

Cet article a été publié dans psychologie. Ajoutez ce permalien à vos favoris.

Laisser un commentaire

